Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) - visa-free scheme extended to include more nationalities
22 February 2024

Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA): visa-free scheme was extended on 22 February

From Thursday 22 February 2024, nationals of the following countries need to apply for an Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) before travelling to the UK:

  • Bahrain
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates

The change makes travel to the UK more streamlined and cheaper for these visitors.

Visitors from Qatar have been using ETAs since autumn 2023. 

Key information

Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETAs) cost GBP 10.

They are valid for two years and allow multiple visits. Each visit can be up to six months.

Visitors do not need an ETA if they have either:

  • a visa
  • permission to live, work or study in the UK
  • a British or Irish passport

How to apply

Application is via the UK ETA app or an online form. 

Applicants upload a photo of their passport and a photo of themselves, then answer some questions before making payment. 

Applicants will usually get a decision within 3 working days, but it may be quicker.

It is possible to apply for someone else.

Previous entry requirements

Previously, Gulf nationals paid £30 for an Electronic Visa Waiver (EVW) and it was valid for one entry only. Jordanians paid £115 for a single-use visitor visa. 

previous entry << >> next entry