ELTons Innovation Awards 2018 are open to applications
18 September 2017

Getting awarded for your hard work is a very satisfying feeling. It shows that people recognise but more important appreciate all your hard work. Sixteen years ago, The British council invented the ELTons Innovations Awards programme to recognise and promote innovation and excellence in English language teaching worldwide.

It celebrates the organisations, teams and individuals whose original approaches, products and services shape the future of English language teaching.

Now in their sixteenth year, the British Council's ELTons Innovation Awards are open for applications from English language teaching professionals – educators, writers, authors, publishers and project managers – around the world.

The British Council has launched a worldwide call for applications for the ELTons Innovation Awards 2018, celebrating innovation in international English language teaching and learning.

The five award categories

Digital innovation

Use of digital technology or media – cutting edge technologies, or original use of existing technology – to benefit high-quality English language learning.

Local innovation

Resources or project innovating to meet specific, local needs, within local, national or regional contexts around the world.

Excellence in course innovation

 Courses using a fresh variety of content, formats or media, to help learners achieve stretching levels of English language proficiency.

Innovation in teacher resources

Resources supporting English language teaching professionals, whether through teacher training, education, or Continuing Professional Development.

Innovation in learner resources

Services, activities, materials or works using innovative means to improve English language learners' proficiency in vocabulary, grammar, fluency, receptive and productive skills, or vital language skills for study or for work.

Applications go through a rigorous, three-round judging process. Judging takes place independently, individually, behind closed doors, meaning that even judges will not know the winners until they are announced at the awards ceremony in June 2018.

The deadline for applications is Friday 3 November 2017

Those shortlisted are invited to join guests from the international ELT sector at the awards ceremony in central London in June 2018.


previous entry << >> next entry