Changes made to UKBA approved list of secure English language tests
8 July 2011

Changes have been made to the UK Border Agency approved list of secure English Language tests. An updated version of the UK Border Agency list was published on their website today (8 July).

 The main changes are:

  • The addition of BULATS tests taken outside of the UK where there are certifying agents available. Details will be available from a link on the list when published on Friday.
  • Clarification that only the TOEFL internet based test is acceptable (this is a directive from the provider)
  • Amendments to the Pearson scores following a re-mapping exercise. The exercise has lowered the Pearson scores mapped against the CEFR. The new scores required in all four elements of the test are as follows:
    • C2 - 80
    • C1 - 67
    • B2 - 51
    • B1 - 36
    • A2/A1 - 24

The UKBA's website notice covers transitional arrangements; but in simple terms, from today, they will accept applications made which include the new tests and new scores regardless of when the test was taken.

Click here to read Pearson's press release on the annoucement.


previous entry << >> next entry